Monday, July 18, 2016

Straight CHILEN

Hola!!!
So I am here, my first week in Chile!! I love it here, the people are either very nice or very mean. Theres this one woman who gets mad at me every time I talk because I do not understand, she talks to me like I'm stupid. There is graffiti everywhere, it's like a city here. They are super good at it though.. I'll take pics next week. The milk and eggs here are not refrigerated... nasty... everyone is so super short so I'm taller than majority of the people which is great haha. It's freezing here since it is Winter right now. I had my first empanada today, it was super good. The houses are so colorful and unique in their own way. I get to teach an English class to our investigators because I am the newest missionary so my English is fresh. It's a lot of fun but difficult because I don't understand their language which makes communicating slightly difficult. The Spanish here is harder for me, I don't understand really anything anyone is saying. Everyone speaks a million miles per hour. I spoke on Sunday to introduce myself which lasted maybe 15 seconds.. Right now we currently have 4 investigators. One is a family, a couple, and the fourth is a single man named Wilfredo. He is 50 and has a baptismal date set for September 3rd which is so awesome!! I studied faith a lot this week, I read Ether 12. Everyone should read it because it's a great chapter, especially verse 6, 12, 29, and 37. We stopped in Panama on the way here. As far as the food goes, Chileans do not go light on their meals. They give each person like a pot sized portion and I have to eat it all because they watch me since I'm the "gringo" (white person). Haha food is ok.. but I swear you have to practically lick the plate clean. I ate a hot dog my first day, and about threw up on the lady.., also some nasty orange thing yuck. Their mind set is the more food they eat the less cold they are.. WRONG. It’s just the less you can walk haha. They gave me this dessert one time and they made me put milk in my jello and eat it... yuck also they made a burnt milk thing.. it was like throw up in my mouth. Usually I just have to swallow my food because they wont get up off the table until everyone is finished eating and since I'm already a slow eater I don't have time to chew... so I just swallow. The rice got old very quick. The bread here is ok, not as good as everyone said it was, but empanadas make up for it because they are seriously delicious. Also they have a spider here and if you get bit you have about 30 min to get to the hospital and take the antidote or you'll die. So far only one missionary has been has been bit but he got the antidote, I'll be safe though. Unfortunately I have no idea how to send pics because this entire computer is in Spanish so maybe if I figure it out you’ll see some next week, sorry! I love you all and don’t forget to pray! 
Con amor,
Hermana Morrill



I did get a couple from someone in her MTC though!



No comments:

Post a Comment